🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

conversion of 3d to 2d

Started by
8 comments, last by andhen 23 years, 8 months ago
ok, I am totally new at 3d graphics. I downloaded Milkshape and learned the basics but cannot figure out how do I make 2d bmp graphics from the 3d model? Perhaps this is not possible with milkshape? Then what program do you recomend? Thanks a lot! Anders
Advertisement
i''ve never used milkshape, but is it a modelling AND rendering package? i think it''s just a modeller.

a2k
------------------General Equation, this is Private Function reporting for duty, sir!a2k
I don''t know about milkshape, but I do know that Blender can model and render to a jpg or tga file. Blender is kind of tricky at 1st, but it''s really great when you get used to it.

"""" "'Nazrix is cool' -- Nazrix" --Darkmage --Godfree"-Nazrix" -- runemaster --and now dwarfsoft" -- dwarfsoft --pouya" -- Nazrix

Need help? Well, go FAQ yourself.
Need help? Well, go FAQ yourself. "Just don't look at the hole." -- Unspoken_Magi
I work with ms3d so i wil answer whatever i can. In effect it is only a modeling tool but it can be effective for texture mapping if you know it well enough. im sure you know about the materials tab. you have to import the texture (which can be anything that is a bmp, jpg) but then you have to set its co-ordinates. i usully work with symetrical objects so you would select a peice you want to texture, import the image and set its co-ordinates. this is a little hard to explain in here so go here

Allow the flaming to begin
Conshape Electronic Arts
Just use Blender, dude

"""" "'Nazrix is cool' -- Nazrix" --Darkmage --Godfree"-Nazrix" -- runemaster --and now dwarfsoft" -- dwarfsoft --pouya" -- Nazrix
""You see... I'm not crazy... you see?!? Nazrix believes me!" --Wavinator