Need some pointers. Kind of a 3D scroller for highway visualization

Started by
7 comments, last by Sergemx73 1 week, 6 days ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this whole environment. I'm looking for any pointers that help to develop a visualizer of civil work.

My idea is to create a 3D road of X miles long, and in that road there are restaurants, phones, lamps, car washes, etc. Anything.

My goal is to have a #D visualization of this road and be able to scroll through that road. But also have a list, or a menu, with everything that is available on that road (the restaurants, etc.) And once a select any of them, the visualization moves automatically to that location. Being able to pan rotate and zooming. But the default camera is static all the time, unless you move it.

Any pointers where can I start? I'm resourceful in Blender to make all the assets, but have no idea how to export those to an engine like Unity or Unreal to make things happen.

Thanks everyone.

Any advice is very welcome!

Sergemx73

Advertisement

I'd suggest to start playing with one of the engines (or both, even, so you can compare). Find some tutorials, and try them even if they don't do exactly what you want. No doubt some of them aim to display a 3d model. If you're really lucky they import a blender model.

Otherwise, search. Simply literally entering a question like “how to import a blender model into unity” in a search engine usually gives some starting points for further exploration.

Postpone trying to solve your goal for a while, understand how things work first. You're stumbling in the dark, first make some light before trying to find the path.

Once the puzzle pieces of the engine and/or Blender start to fall into place, you may want to try a more direct path towards solving your problem. At that point you can use all the knowledge you learned from experimenting.

Sergemx73 said: