🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

NPC wobbles after reaching destination

Started by
3 comments, last by nortski 2 days, 18 hours ago

I have some simple chase behaviour setup on my npcs that have a “follow” component.
If the npc can see the player and is within attack distance it will then move towards the player. The npc will return to it's original position if the player goes out of sight or our of range of the npc.

My problem is the npc will wobble at it's destination, either after reaching the player's position or returning back to it's home position.

I am a beginner and I feel I'm just missing out a simple step. Can you guys please take a look at my code and advise me:

if(!visionBlocked && (playerPos.dist(npcPosition) < 300))
{
	direction = playerPos - npcPosition;
}
else
{
	direction = homePos - npcPosition;
}

direction.normalize();
direction *= npc->getComponent<CFollow>().speed;
npcPosition += direction;
Advertisement

This is caused by the phenomenon of “overshoot”, a common issue in many disciplines when trying to iteratively reach a target value. This happens in spring simulations, PID controllers, etc. It can happen anywhere you iteratively use a formula like: velocity = (target - current)*speed.

You are trying to go exactly to the target position at full speed, but due to inaccurate numerical integration of the time step, will go past the target position. The solution is to add damping, so that overshoot is avoided. This could involve slowing down when in the vicinity of the target.

You might want to set speed like this:

// speedFactor controls how much to slow down.
speed = min( speedFactor*length(playerPos - npcPosition), maxSpeed );